Nashville

Nashville, Did you give me half a chance with your Southern style and your hidden dance? Away, you dance away, you dance away. –“Nashville” by Indigo Girls

The Sarah Mac Band spent a week in Nashville earlier this month. There was a whole heck of a lot going on during that trip. Honestly, it barely left us with any time to eat. Luckily, we stole away one night and hit the Wild Cow, an East Nashville vegan establishment recommended to us by our friend Holly. The first  night, Claire had a taco salad, Charlie had a Southwestern Salad (I know, it sounds like they should be the same thing, but they weren’t), and I had a Tempe Reuben sandwich with a side of garlicky kale.

Because we  were so pleased with our meal, we actually went back the next night and met Holly and her three children for dinner (which was eventually cut short by a sick child who totally blew vegan chunks in the parking lot… which ricocheted onto my jeans and feet!!!). Before the ill fated parking lot incident, we shared a delightful meal which included the following:

  • Lots of coloring with melted crayons
  • Vegan nachos with real (fake) sour cream and queso sauce
  • Beans and rice
  • Sweet potato tacos
  • Charlie convincing Holly’s daughter that he was once in a bicycle gang
  • Charlie trying to convince Holly’s daughter that her brand new first ever boyfriend,  Gavin, was also in the bicycle gang
  • Charlie convincing Holly’s daughter that he knows Gavin, even though she wasn’t totally sold on the bicycle gang part:

“…he’s about eight years old right?”
“…with brownish hair?”
“…and he goes to your school, right?”
“..wait, I think that he said that he was in your class. Is this the same guy?”
“Yep, that’s him. I totally know him.

  • Jalapeno hummus
  • A homemade firefly with tissue paper wings (man, I wish I had a picture of this, it  was so cool!)
  • Chick pea salad (instead of chicken salad).

For the most part, everything that we got seemed pretty straight forward. With a little time and some special ingredients, we could totally make all of our delightful meals at home. But when we got to the chick pea salad, Holly (who is also adventurous in the kitchen) tasted it and tilted her head to the side, lost in thought. After a few moments of silence (which is hard at a table of three kids and a homemade firefly), she said, “now how could you replicate this one?”

Sarah Mac sighing contentedly after a big bowl of garlicky kale…. nothing does a soul better… not even all of the alcohol in the foreground…

For the record, I have no idea. I did a little bit of Google research and found this recipe.  It says that the recipe came straight from the Wild Cow, but just from reading over it, I’m not feeing it. It seems so ordinary from the recipe and nothing like the earthquake on my taste buds and texture buds (yeah, I don’t really know what to call them, but I’m a stickler for texture), but you know what, I could have just been really crazy hungry and no I’ve blown it up bigger in my memory than it really was. [Side note: I’ll try this recipe out and let you guys know if it is how I remember it being.]

Anyway, all Holly had to do was say, “now, how could you replicate this one?” and something came alive in me and all I wanted to do was get back in the kitchen and play. Luckily, we left for home the next day.

For the entire ride back to Florida, I nested, which translates to “wrapped myself in a Snuggie and alternately knitted and used my fancy internet telephone to snoop out adventurous recipes to try in the kitchen.” I settled on something less adventurous, but still as fun and creative—I am going to make my own LÄRA BARS!!  I lifted this idea from Holly, too. She makes her own and said that it’s super easy.

Of course, there are approximately one zillion recipes for different flavors of LÄRA BAR on the world wide web. So, for now, I’m in the test phase, trying out different flavors until I determine how I want to combine that big package of Medjool Dates that I bought at the grocery.

Check back soon to see the results.

And on a totally unrelated note, I’ve  been rediscovering one of my favorite bands of all time (at least from age 12 until age 22 when I moved in with Claire and had to switch over to Patty Griffin and Gillian Welch), R.E.M. on Spotify as I write this. Does anyone remember “You Are The Everything” from the Green album? It’s weird, and I remember not liking it when it first came out, but now as I listen back, I think that’s it’s a neat little song… lots of lush layers of flavor… kind of like that damn unattainable chick pea salad!!

Huh, I guess that it all comes full circle, because we saw Mike Mills when we were in Nashville!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Nashville

  1. the holly says:

    so sorry you were baptized in vegan chunks! so good to see you all…and to be able to share one of my favorite places with people who enjoy similar food! 🙂

Leave a Reply

